Welcome to Early Years

Early Years and Foundation Stage Curriculum

At Chandos Primary School, we fully embrace the four guiding principles which shape the EYFS curriculum:

There are seven areas of learning and development

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. They are designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's needs and interests.

The Prime Areas

Personal, social and emotional development 

Communication and language 

Physical development 

The Specific Areas



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking, which takes place both indoors and outside.

Use the buttons below to find out more information about our Early Years provision.

Useful Documents we use in the EYFS


EYFS Statutory Framework


Development Matters

For more information... 

Miss Devlin is our Early Years Lead.

Please feel free to speak to her with any questions that you may have.